Early Years Foundation Stage……

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum is a play-based framework. At Busy Bees we use this as a guide to ensure that all our children from the ages of 2 to 4 years of age are developing and learning to their full potential. We plan and provide a range of play activities based around the fascinations and interests of the children. We are members of the Early Years Alliance who provide us with inspiration and guidance on all things Early Years including updates on changes in legislation.

Through play, children make sense of their world. Young children have an enormous capacity for intellectual development; they learn by exploring and investigating, watching and listening, talking and discussing, creating and communicating. We are flexible and adapt our interactions for individual children’s stage of development.

There are 7 areas of learning:

Prime areas of learning

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language Development

Specific areas of learning

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive Arts and Design